Possibly Having To Cancel My Van Order.......

Kingsimon2000

VIP Member
T6 Pro
So after a 2-year wait in January, I ordered a kombi van. It was a big chunk of change but it was my 50th birthday and it was going to be great for work.. Now we are where we are.. I work in the film and commercials industry and on Monday as myself and the rest of the crew were working on a shoot all of our jobs got canceled.. zero money coming in from now on..

Ok. I get it,.. now my lovely van was built last week. The week beginning the 13thwas when I had planned to be going to Cordwallis to pick it up!

Reality looks like this is going to go on longer than the summer so in theory, I would have a new van on the drive / commercial insurance to pay with nowhere to go!

I've paid the £1000.00 deposit but I'm not clear if I am in a contract to pay the full amount.

Then I'm thinking to get it now whilst I can! christ not sure what to do.

I also totally understand that this is not the most important thing to worry about!

poo.

Honest opinion, if you can, cancel and lose your deposit, you can always revisit your needs later in the year, Not good having a pretty van on the drive and you cant afford to keep a roof over your head.

Hey @Kingsimon2000 the film/broadcast industry is brutal, especially at your end of things. sorry to hear it mate. But, @superflyguy is right. If its gonna mess everything up, its better to cut your losses. You can always ask if they are about to shut down production and put the whole process on hold, as you wont be able to pay and will need to cancel... there are a few manufacturers closing up as they wont be able to afford the fees to chase defaulters or store/sell someone elses vehicle and so they would possibly rather have the business later than the problems now....
Dont lose your house, or family shortly after that. Its a van. This thing will blow over and the van will follow...