Newbie Here...

vwski

VIP Member
T6 Pro
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on here so go easy please ;)

I'm considering getting a T6 SWB van (or T5 I guess) which I will mainly use everyday for work but then occasionally for personal use - DIY stores, dog walking, dump etc.

As far as costs are concerned, am I better off buying a panel van and then converting it to what I need or should I try and find something suitable 'off the shelf'?

It will be my first van and I've only ever driven one a few times in the past so I don't really want to buy new just incase a few months down the line I decide it's not for me.
I definitely want 5 seats and rear glass of some description as like I said this will also be used as my 'car' occasionally.
A nice interior with heated seats is a must. Not fussed about leather but maybe they all come with leather anyway???
The main reason to get a van is so I can purchase it through my company. Paying for a personal car in my current situation seems like I'm throwing money away. I have use of another car if that's what I need at times. The other alternative is for me to buy a fully electric car but that's a completely different story!
I will only really use it to transport clean goods. I'm pretty anal about keeping my vehicles clean.
The other use would be to transport my new puppy around :)

I don't necessarily have a budget in mind as ultimately my company will purchase/own it. I'm VAT registered so I guess that will help too.
I do however want it to look special and not like a normal panel van. It needs to be a good place to be if that makes sense.

I currently know absolutely nothing about these vans so any advice would be much appreciated. I've had a quick look online and there are so many variations that I don't know what I'm really looking at. What's the best engine, year, body kit etc. Any issues buying used? Do vans come up for sale on here?