carpeting T6 - help & advice

scotia

Mechanical engineer
VIP Member
T6 Guru
Hello,
So i live in Switzerland where no-one does any of this type of thing - they just buy a Cali and be done with it..

Therefore we're doing this ourselves... The panels went very easily but we're bricking it with regards to the metalwork.

How do you start? spray glu on one corner of metal & carpet and hold the rest with clamps whilst working? How do you go about the windows? im going to seal them off to not get any spray onto them but can you do it bit by bit as in spray as you go or do people spray the whole side of the van then the whole carpet in one?

i have found a trim that will help the finishing around the windows from sealsdirect so i think i'll use that to finish off the windows.

any tips very much welcome!

thanks in advance.

I'm not an expert, I have just done this for the first time, I too was bricking it but it turned out to be relatively straightforward. I watched a few videos on youtube about window fitting which gave me all the info I needed. One tip with fitting windows, get a air or electrically powered mastic gun, that glue is very heavy going by hand. I found it more difficult to get a decent instruction on the carpets; the best info I found in hindsight was someone who said "it's easy!"

I did the windows and carpet a side at a time on the same day. First job bask the outside of the van, then drill the corners of the panels from the inside out. Grind out the internal strengtheners to allow the jigsaw to pass. Mark out the outside of the van between the drill holes, then mask up to the lines to give the maximum protection to the paint. Finally I cut out the panels with a jigsaw with a good quality sheet metal blade (Bosch T118A). Filled the edges smooth and flat and painted the edges with a cold galvanizing paint then sprayed some clear lacquer to seal it.