Card Machines For Small Businesses.

Tourershine

Senior Citizen.
VIP Member
T6 Master
I've been trading now for nearly 12 years, and rarely had any need for a card machine, because most of my customers pay by bank transfer, or cash.
However, due to a growing trend of immoral people having our work carried out, and then not paying for what they've had done, it looks like i'm going to have to put a stop to bank transfers as payments, and move over to card payments, which is a real shame.

We used to use a card machine several years ago, but it was always reliant on phone service to work, and as I can be in some really remote areas, this was often embarrassing when the machine wouldn't connect, and this was the customers only method of payment.

A quick Google search and things seemed to have moved on considerably, with small devices that connect to your phone, but therein lies my question.

Can anyone recommend a machine/gadget that's reliable and not stuffed with exorbitant charges, because there seems to be dozens of these available now, each offering different or better options than the others :confused:

It's easier asking on here on the off chance that someone uses one they are really happy with.

Cheers.

haven't got one myself . . . .

but I've noticed over the last few/5 years a lot of small business types at festivals/tradehsows and the like using a small bluetooth gadget thing linked to a phone. (rely on internet connection via phone)

they tap in the amount . . . . do a swipe or insert, you put your pin in, they ask for your email for recipt and bam! done.

The email receipt come through straight away.>.....>

the ones i remember using looked like these: (link below)

3. SumUp
5. PayPal Here

40.jpg

top7 devices listed here > Top 7 Mobile Credit Card Machines & Readers From £19

The problem is there are so many to choose from.