Camper van virgin, looking to pop my cherry!

Evening all! Newbie here. Haven’t got a camper van, but this is something I’m looking to change in the very near future. I’m contemplating doing the conversion myself, so I’m primarily here to gain the knowledge and wisdom from some of those who’ve already carried out conversions. And from those who have spent time in various campers and have found the bits they liked and didn’t like, so that I can fine tune the features that I may install on our camper.
I’m mechanically minded having been a vehicle tech for over a decade and I’m currently working as a domestic electrician, so I’m hoping the conversion should been well within my remit.

Any words of advice would be most welcome, otherwise hello everyone

My advice would be to think about what you want, and plan an order of works before starting. If you want a pop top, don't fit a kitchen before that is done.
If you want a kitchen, insulate and sound deaden before that is done. Think about where you want lights and power points (12 and 240) and get wires in before ANY other work is done because you may not be able to get in, especially after roof and kitchen are done.
If you want something out of the ordinary, not available off the shelf, expect it to take twice as long.
If you're like me and want everything to be just how I want it, add another two years onto that.

What’s you current lifestyle/holiday habit?
Are you already an experienced camper or is your normal holiday 2 weeks on an all inclusive beach? Are you outdoorsy type or do you prefer Saturday afternoons on the couch with the footy & a slab of Stella? Have you got a high maintenance wife/kids?