Tailgate retrofit wiper motor kit

Paul Holmes

Camper Hire
T6 Guru
Hi newbie here I'm collecting my new van on Tuesday he has a solid tailgate so I want to retrofit heated glass and wiper motor kit has anyone carried out this any help gratefully received

Last edited:
Not done one personally but VW don't put in any cabling that isn't used so it will all need wiring back to the dash.
If you are planning on doing it in an OE fashion it will need to be wired back into the BCM and be aware you will need to replace your complete stalks for one with the motion for rear wiper, I imagine the heater would be slightly easier and won't require so many parts apart from the glass just wiring and dash button I'm thinking ?

Let me know if you need any help with parts and wiring info

I did one a couple of years ago and as Pauly says, no wiring so you have to do the lot. Not too bad to do though. You will need a rivnut gun to insert some captive nuts to mount the motor.

Not done one personally but VW don't put in any cabling that isn't used so it will all need wiring back to the dash.
If you are planning on doing it in an OE fashion it will need to be wired back into the BCM and be aware you will need to replace your complete stalks for one with the motion for rear wiper, I imagine the heater would be slightly easier and won't require so many parts apart from the glass just wiring and dash button I'm thinking ?

Let me know if you need any help with parts and wiring info

Morning all thanks for the speedy replies any idea of part nos needed?

@Pauly / @travelvolts i guess I’ll be in the same position with my glazed tailgate that has (no wiper but does have) heated glass - wiring, replacement climate control module and VCDS?

That's a good point, I was thinking of the front heated screen which is an independent button.
The rear button is integral to the AC/heating co trip panel and they are not cheap