Resurrect your favourite old motor

slocumjoseph

The Ancient Mariner
VIP Member
T6 Guru
There must be loads of us who are nostalgic for one of their previously owned vehicles they’d like to own again. The car I once owned that was the most exciting to drive was a Skoda Octavia MK1 VRS. It was as ordinary looking as a Vauxhall Vectra but a real wolf in sheep’s clothing. The Audi TT engine gave it a ridiculous top speed of 145mph. I once checked that out and found it still accelerating at 147. The suspension was beautifully sorted so it was as well balanced as a supercar….and I ended up using it as a taxi. o_O However the car I once owned and would really like to see resurrected is a MK1 all metal mini estate I had. I had skimmed the head and fitted it with twin SU carbs. So by 60s standards it had a bit of wellie but I also enjoyed owning it for practical reasons. I was a commercial photographer in those days and it could instantly convert from a cute car, which the girls liked :whistle:, into a little van when I needed to carry all my equipment.

View attachment 173096

View attachment 173097

Best car i ever owned was a Nissan Skyline R33 VSPEC. That was a fast car as standard (held the lap record at Nurburgring). Plus mine was mildly tuned to around 450bhp. 4 wheel drive, 4 wheel steer, was amazing to drive.
Its still around but has been used on track so not sure i want it back.

I still have real fond memories of my Golf GTi mark 2. My second car.

To me is my Opel speedster 2.0 turbo.
Never driven anything like that again…20 years ago that car was crazy fast, handling like a supercar.

Best car i ever owned was a Nissan Skyline R33 VSPEC. That was a fast car as standard (held the lap record at Nurburgring). Plus mine was mildly tuned to around 450bhp. 4 wheel drive, 4 wheel steer, was amazing to drive.
Its still around but has been used on track so not sure i want it back.

I still have real fond memories of my Golf GTi mark 2. My second car.