Rear Quarter Windows

YellowHound

Photographer
VIP Member
T6 Legend
I have a T6 SWB Kombi Highline on order - not expected until early May.

I'm looking for thoughts on installing rear 3/4 windows from this that have had it down and those that have considered them but decided against. I'm not looking for instal tips or recommendations but the advantages/disadvantages of having them.

My van will fulfil several functions: day to day vehicle for my business (I'm a photographer) and day to day transport for my wife and two dogs; location van for transporting me and my trade stand to events, and acting as my accommodation (and office working space) whilst I'm away at events; camper van for my wife, myself and our dogs for short trips.

I'm going pop top roof with bed for sure as I want to leave the downstairs relatively clear. Not really interested in hob or loads of cupboards but will want a fridge and some storage.

When I first started thinking about my needs and the conversion I was certain that I would go with rear 3/4 windows. But seeing vans that don't have them makes me question whether they are a good idea.

One of my thoughts was re-classifying the van as a pass vehicle and hence higher speed limits but I'm not sure the extent of the conversion work I have in mind will qualify it.

Please share your thoughts/opinions.

TIA

I have rear 3/4 windows in my T6 Kombi, but didn't have them in my T5. The overall feel of the van is totally different with windows in. It is much easier to drive as it gives you better visibility, but it also feels a bit less "cave like". That is both a positive and a negative thing.

The T5 (without windows) felt a bit more enclosed and protected, but the T6 feels more exposed and a bit colder in winter.

I actually prefer the more exposed feel of the windows as that's part of the point of camping etc.