isolating valve on underslung LPG tank. advice please

FiForres

hello - I have a new conversion on a T6.1 carried out by a reputable caravan company. the owner said that there is a manual shut off on the tank but it's very inaccessible under the vehicle. When I asked about how safe this was he said as there was only one gas appliance in the van (the gas hob) it didn't need to have an isolation valve. I'm nervous about driving the van while gas is 'live' and told him this. he then installed a in-line shut off valve for the cooker. However, I'm still really nervous about driving with the gas tank under the vehicle not being shut off. I'm really new to having a campervan and would very much appreciate peoples advice on this.

So you're happy to have an entire tank of gas but the minute amount in the pipe is a concern?

Where do you want him to install a shut off valve then ?
I think you are worrying too much.

Pete

The tank has a manual valve under the vehicle not a solenoid one operated from the cab. That’s my concern - I can only close it by crawling under vehicle. I understood that you had to turn the gas off while driving on a carriageway? Is that not right?

Thank you. Yes, I’ve seen that is the case. My question is about the safety of driving on public highways without isolating the LPG tank at the main valve - ie with no count off valve on the tank that can be operated from the cab.

Thank you. Yes, I’ve seen that is the case. My question is about the safety of driving on public highways without isolating the LPG tank at the main valve - ie with no count off valve on the tank that can be operated from the cab.
*cut off*

You are correct in your concerns, every component adds cost and converters don’t like that, especially as 99% of customers don’t query it.

A solenoid valve operated by electricity is then dependant on the supply of electricity, and the wiring to the solenoid.