Camper electrics

TheGrapeEscape

VIP Member
T6 Pro
Not sure if this is in the right section or not, so mods please move if it is.

As many will have seen, I picked up my first camper at the end of April.

It came semi converted (everything but the bed and 240v electrics)

Yesterday I removed the o/s rear carpeted panel and found the ctek charger the previous owner had installed.

Question is, I'm putting a 250v socket, fuseboard and a couple 13a sockets in as my next project.

I am an electrician by trade, so standard electrical wiring is no worry for me. However, is there a way to run the existing 6 x 12v downlights into the 240v supply?

Usually when fitting 12v dc lights, I'll use a 240 - 12v transformer, but as the lights are already wired into the sergeant, I'm worried I'll ruin something

Got a few pics?

The ctek maybe a DC-DC charger for engine charge?

The Sargent has a basic 12.8vdc PSU that's powered from the EHU. (They call it a charger, but it's just a basic PSU)

So well assume your rear led lights are fed from that Sargent.

And when the EHU power isnt available the Sargent uses the Leisure battery 12v, and when EHU is available the Sargent connects in the 12v PSU effectively running the lights and supplying a small amount of charge power to the LB.

Yes mate, sure.

I've not taken the panel fully off yet, but found thus. I will be taking the panel off this week to check fully, as I'm fitting a 250v inlet on side.

Screenshot_20240505_084357_Gallery.jpg

Then the inside pod has sink, hob, fridge and leisure battery in cupboard with a little 4 way fuse carrier (pictured in top right cupboard) and powered with a sergeant ac50 control panel

Screenshot_20240505_084615_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20240505_084642_Gallery.jpg

That looks like ctek d250sa?

The SA is the older version

The d250se is the newer version that add a lithium battery charge profile.

That's a 20A ish DC-DC charger from the engine when running.