Biking Hiking Day Van Diy

Sherbs

T6 Pro
Seems the done thing is throwing up here a commentary of the build or finished product. I’m a bit late to the party but I’ll try to rewind to the start.
Finally took the plunge and picked up my first T anything on the 12th March this year.
A late reg (Aug 2016) T6 Highline tdi 150ps manual, Silver, Tailgate, 9300 miles, spotless inside and out.
Fiamma bike carrier, removable tow bar
2 captains chairs up front, bench in the back
Bargain price

As it’s my daily drive I’m thinking modular units that will swallow 2 mountain bikes and overnighting essentials with a bed thrown in the mix, designs and approach are fluid right now, inspirations from slide pods and stitches n steel.
Useage:
father/son biking trips
Husband/wife getaways
Family camping trips with awning

Job 1:
Limo tints on rear windows
While I want to do as much as practical myself, I have no experience doing this so booked in with a local company:
AK Tints in Leeds
Lunchtime appointment fitted while I waited
£25 per window
Perfect result

Job 2:
Captain chairs need swivels
Opted to order the offset units from Kiravans
Fitting was a doddle
But the drivers unit very quickly developed an annoying squeak.
At this point it was hugely convenient that Kiravans are just 10 miles away, allowing me to pop up and swap out the unit with them.
Really helpful folks, very impressed with their customer support.
The swivels are good but as an engineer I quickly identified potential improvements that further stabilise them - a side project for now but something that may become marketable if the designs work out

Job 3:
God it’s noisy in here.....
Thanks to the sound deadening shop for speedy delivery of a bulk box of silent coat I am popping off hardboard panels and sticking foil lined butyl everywhere.
What I had read suggested 1 bulk box of 40 sheets is enough for a SWB T6