15.3v reading from battery

Johnston97

I am getting a reading of 15.3v on my leisure battery when plugged in to charge. Is this normal or is there an error?

Could be a bit high.

I'd use a second multimeter to verify the reading...

You could get 15.3v with an AGM profile with cold temp compensation.... The charger can add voltage as the temp drops.

15.3V sounds tad high. I’ve seen 15.0 max on AGM battery at low temperatures (colder than -10°) with CTEK D250SA charger.

Hi all,

Thanks for replying.

This may be tied in with the fact our fridge has also gone off which is annoying and has caused all of our food to go off - not ideal whilst we are currently away in the highlands.

I am a newbie to this so I’ve attached some photos of the problems we are having which is:

1. Our battery is showing 15.4v at times whilst plugged in to charge (battery has not gone flat recently but did drop to about 11v before we then plugged it in

2. Our fridge has then tripped but after restarting it and disconnecting the battery, it still is not working (see photos of both).

IMG_5195.jpeg

IMG_5193.jpeg

11v is pretty much flat, generally a lead acid based battery needs recharging when it drops below 50%, yours was under 10%

Does it often drop to these levels?

What are you using to measure your battery voltage?

nt%2Fuploads%2F2018%2F09%2FBattery-State-Of-Charge.png

I'm struggling to locate your charger, it seems to be this unbranded one. I can't find instructions but it does mention having a winter mode with raised voltage.

Fridge looks like it’s working in that photo.

Edit, i see in the later comment that the orange light is flashing. The instructions say to turn off using the powers switch then disconnect (remove fuse or disconnect from battery) leave for one minute and reconnect.IMG_5785.png

Last edited: