Hi all, thanks for allowing me to join the group, I have a lot to learn and hopefully contribute at some point

LandShark

We are looking to replace our day car with a T6 camper, this will allow us to continue to tow our caravan and restart our camping lifestyle which we used to enjoy until age a bad back wouldn't tolerate the ground any longer. My wife and our 40 kilo German Shepherd will be traveling in the camper, I have lots of questions and a lot to learn, I'm a retired mechanic so can do a lot of the practical stuff myself, below is what I've gleaned so far;

1) my van choice is T6, diesel, swb, auto with tailgate
2)i have to make provision for our dog to travel safely in a crate but have freedom at night to sleep in the living area with us (this is my biggest stumbling block atm
3)Undecided to choose an already converted one to adapt to our needs, start with an empty van or consider buying a California (expensive and still unsure if it would fulfil our needs
It would be great to hear your thoughts,
Many thanks in advance

LWB
I would go and see some converted vans and take your dog crate with you. As DXX says, I think it will have to be a LWB.

Pete
Good advice we have started to look but currently there is not much stock in dealers atm so will be looking to visit some camper meets etc, i did consider LWB but was trying to avoid it but will choose the best option after advice and looking around

Thanks, I think you may be right on this

Do you need the crate? We clip ours into the rear seatbelts with a travel harness on. For sleeping we put the dogs on the double swivel seat and they stay there all night...followed by jumping in the bed at the first meeting of eyes in a morning!

Although.. I have just re read your post and your dog sounds slightly larger than our 2 little frenchies!