DSG advice

Grambo

I'm new to van life, and it's also my first DSG, so I'm looking for some advice, please (and apologies if this has been asked before - but if so, I couldn't find it!).

The van drives well, and I'm now pretty comfortable with the gearbox, however I have noticed that when I stop on an incline it appears a bit difficult to get moving. For example, at the weekend I had to stop when leaving a car park. I was on a very slight incline, and when I engaged "D", released the handbrake, moved from the brake pedal to the accelerator, the van just seemed not to want to move. I really had to depress the accelerator hard and the van just crawled forward. It made me think of a few occasions when I've been driving onto a ferry and have had to pause on the (steep) ramp up onto the car deck..... I felt that if that had happened in the van I would have been totally stuck. (It has also happened when stopped, then trying to reverse up slight incline. It just feels like there's no traction/torque).

Is this normal - or is there a technique I'm not getting? I had a quick scan of the manual, but didn't unearth anything there.

Thanks in advance.

Pretty sure they have hill assist? Where it will hold brakes on until you press accelerator pedal.

I'm describing what i've experienced and think this is..

Could be wrong, but intrigued!

I can't say I've noticed too much of an issue with any of my DSG vehicles going forwards. They don't tend to creep as readily as a conventional auto, so do need a bit more throttle.

I understand that torque is reduced in reverse, so more throttle is needed then. I need to go over a lip reversing onto my drive. If the is something behind and I just need to creep on, it can be difficult, but with a run up, it's fine. Reversing a trailer up there is a bugger. The trailer needs a shove to get it up the lip. Too much, and the brakes come on and it's back to square one.