Blown Bilstein front dampers

Earnest Electric

VIP Member
G'day T6ers,

I'm a bit disappointed with my ute tonight and thought I'd pose a couple of questions. It's a trayback dual cab. 2015 build, 2016 year model, 2017 delivery.

Do you think there might have been evidence of leaks on these front struts 2600km (1625mi) earlier? It was serviced Nov 29th by the esteemed local VW dealer known for their fearlessness in invoicing, who missed an obvious grease leak from the RHR driveshaft boot.

(Bear in mind this garage has fully refunded a service before, because they were caught out NOT changing brake fluid, charging for a pollen filter that wasn't fitted, plus other cockups)

I'm a trained auto electrician in another life and my expertise says that dampers might, but generally don't, fail overnight.

In order to pump oil all over the driveshaft, upright, brakes & inside the wheel/trye, it says to me the passenger side has been failing for quite some time.

Appears the drivers side is now leaking too... and the vehicle has only done 94688km (59180mi) I'm the second owner and I believe this suspension has been fitted from new.

It's standard height and I've been running softer/taller 16" BFG AT tyres for maybe 10 000km. Previously just had factory 17" and while it carries tools it doesn't get flogged on rough roads. Mainly tarmac with a little farming.

These struts would be 5 years old so do I buy more Bilsteins? Are they significantly better than VW parts? I can get Konis for similar money.

Should I be looking for anything else tricky? These are standard clamp type struts and standard springs in the picture?

Either way in not impressed with the life span so far.

Cheers

20230305_231156.jpg

20230305_231347.jpg

20230305_231423.jpg

20230305_231511.jpg

20230305_230548.jpg

20230305_230654.jpg

Last edited:
Aware you might be limited for choice but any other service points around ? If its a B14 then it's a cheapo version using the bilstein name.