Advice Needed

Macloon

Hi all I'm new to the forum. Hope all had a good xmas period.
I'm after a bit of advice and peoples thoughts. I had my transporter 61 plate go in for MOT today and it failed. I've been quoted £1150 for new brake discs and pads on all 4 wheels, coil spring suspension on both rear, brake caliper replacement rear drivers side a full service and the MOT.
What are peoples thoughts is this a good deal or very expensive. I'm a novice when it comes to things such as this so any advice would be welcomed. Cheers

Sounds expensive to me but I've not replaced any of those parts on my van yet, ring vw up and price up the bits that'll give you an idea :thumbsup:

using eurocarparts.com as a guide you have about £500 worth of parts,retail pricing - trade would be cheaper. seems their quote seems expensive to me.

Did you get a failure sheet? it seems very strange that 4 discs and pads would all need changing together. Are you sure they are not making some recommendations as to work they think you should have carried out as opposed to needing them to pass the MOT?

It's a pity you didn't take the failure sheet around a few garages to get them to compete for your custom to get the work done...

It may of saved you a few quid and you would of seen how they compared with their pricing in respect to other garages..

When you get this level of MOT failure, it's like everything else... best to shop around...!

Needed to get the work done asap as I use it for work. Did have a quick look on a site called clickmechanic and it was a lottle bit cheaper. So overall view is that it was expensive? Just means I wont be using them in the future neither will family members if so