Would you let the van speed limit put you off buying a T32 LWB Kombi vs a Shuttle?

onetwothree

Hi all. About to purchase a van, narrowed it down to a LWB T32 Kombi for £29k or a Shuttle for £26k. Same age (2019), both DSG and similar miles and spec.

Kombi advantages to me would be the number of larger choice of mods, camping pods, converters, roofs etc and this particular one has a few extras like cruise control and a comfort dash.

The only thing stopping me getting the Kombi is the van speed limit rule. Assuming as it's a T32 LWB it would be over the 2040kg mass in service weight however it's weighed, so would have to adhere to the lower limits.

To be honest, I've not really got a problem with that and happy to do so, I'm just worried that as a car driver I'll simply forget and end up doing the limits that have been hard wired into me during the last 25 years of driving and end up getting fined etc.

Anyone regret getting a LWB Kombi when they could have maybe got a Shuttle instead?

It didnt stop me. I'm yet to see 'vans' in general adhere to any limits. I just keep the aweness of the issue in mind, but I dont let it control my thinking. Maybe because I'm a little bit driving miss daisy in the van anyway. I have superbikes and treat speed limits as if they were for others and not me anyway. But in the bus, I drive it like i did my old T2. Slowly, unrushed and calmly. Besides, once i finish my upgrades to camper spec I can reregister it (albeit with difficulty with DVLA) but Im bloody minded, persistent and theyll be worse off for the discourse than I. Besides, you'll be binning a lot of shuttle stuff you dont need and paying for it too. A Kombi is easier in my view. Stuff the speed limits, theyre for chumps and not me. I'm too fabulous. 9 out of 10 road traffic officers agree with this statement. The one that didnt was French and had us for a measly 136mph as I braked for a lovely fast sweeper on my bike. He was very apologetic. I love the French.