Which VW van is the best for conversion

gaz301058

Hi guys
Complete novice to van conversions here had three Californians previous last one having corrosion issues on roof so we are now thinking of buying a van for conversion always wanted to do one before I go and kick the bucket lol so seeing that you guys are well into conversions and the knowledge you guys have I need to start with the basic question which is the best van for conversion whether it is long wheelbase or short wheelbase which is a good engine to go for whether I should try and buy a van with the added little luxuries like Front and rear reversing sensors we have not made our minds up whether it should be a a full campervan conversion or part like a beach at the moment we have a generation six and love it but it's not a campervan and we don't really want to cut a hold in the roof of his vehicle if you know what I mean :)

First question is what do you need it for and what do you use in the Cali's you had. We had a Cali back in 2010 and never used any of the stuff inside apart form the fridge and cooker. never lifted the roof much after having problems with it either so this time I bought a Beach only because the resale is better than a Van. Had the beach been a option at the time we had a Cali we would have gone for that. If you have a Generation Six do need a camper as the seat should go flat and you have your bed. I doubt I'll use the bed in ours as I bought a Kyham Motor dome to sleep in. Looking at the conversions her I wish I had bought a Highline Kombi the gone to @slidepods for the work I needed doing to it. Plenty of threads on here featuring work done