What Price To Pay For New T6 In Australia?

ChesterD

Hello I'm a newb in many ways and I'm hoping to put a deposit on a T6 this coming week. It's my first Volkswagon and it's my first brand new vehicle and it's my first time buying from a dealer. Eeek. Looking for some advice on what price to aim for. I'm not looking for a bargain- I just don't want to pay too high a price. I'm not interested in buying through a broker or driving 100km to find a better price. This is a van with extras that will need to be built in Germany and shipped (takes about 5 months to get here!)

From the research I've done on here and elsewhere I should aim for 8-12% discount from a big dealer. I have a few questions in relation to this:

1. How does this info which is mostly UK specific relate to Australia?
2. What about "On Road Costs"? What should I pay for this confusing bunch of costs and how does it relate to the discount I should be able to get.
3. If I'm ordering a van with extras that needs to be built does this affect the discount?
4. Using their finance- I don't think this affects my bargaining power?
5. From what I've read I can use extras as a bargaining chip.

Here is what the dealer I want to buy from is quoting for the price:

TDI340 DSG : $41790
On road costs: $5579
Total: $47369
"Discount" price: $41990
(basically he said he was giving me the On road costs for free)

I asked another dealer and they quoted the same price and pretty much laughed at me when I asked for $37000. I realise that was maybe too low but he didn't even come back with an offer. He seemed like the world's worst car dealer though, so there's that.

I also want to spend about 5K on extras.

So assuming I choose 5K worth of extras the total RRP (including "On roads" which confuse the hell out of me) is $52369. Already they seem to be offering this at $46990. Can I get better than this? On road costs seem over the top at 5.5K.