Van for my detailing business - power.

Josh Corps

Hello all, I'm new to the forum I'll start with a little bit about myself.
I'm an electrician/generator maintainer in the Army, I've recently purchased my first T6 2016 DSG SWB Highline. Its my intention to convert it but also use it for my business I have set up as a detailer ready for when I get out of the Army.

I've been thinking long and hard about how I should power my camper, obviously the first thing that came up was a good generator, but I've really got my head set on making it green, using a bank of batteries and plenty of solar panels.

I've had quite a lot of work to do with batteries over my career but I've never had to do anything like this. any advice on what voltage I should run at 12v/24v? with a step up inverter to 240? how long does a battery usually last when using it alone?

I have no knowledge what so ever on solar panels so any advice what so ever would be appreciated.

Thanks
Josh

When you say power your camper, do you mean for your detailing business (and if so what kit do you need to run?) or do you mean when it’s being used as a camper?

Idealy both, however I'm fully aware that a 1.6kw@240v jet washer will be quite unattainable. But thats why I'm here, maybe there is some wizardry to make this work.

For the camper side of things what I done was install a leisure battery under the drivers seat. I then installed a battery to battery charger so that when I was driving the leisure battery could charge from the starter battery. Then from the leisure battery I ran led lights in the back, the fridge, usb sockets, the water pump and probably a couple of other things I’m forgetting. I then ran a mains cable from the engine bay to a fuse box in the rear so that when I’m in campsites with hook up I can get mains. The fuse box then powers two 240v sockets but also powers a second battery charger that also charges the leisure battery when I’m plugged in.