Home smart-meter utility engineer checks whole house and condemns

tram

Engineer
T6 Pro
This is a sign of the times we live in. My girlfriend has her own house. She got a phone call from utilities that they HAD to change her meter for a smart meter, and that they were coming round to do change it.

When they came, they also looked in every room in the house, bedrooms, the lot, on the spot. In the kitchen they condemned her gas fire there and then, told her to go to a plumber about it, and litterally cut the pipe there and then, and put a danger sign on it.

I'm not a plumber, but the fire was fine, and was 20 years old. I used to vac it out from time to time. There was a slight yellow flame, but only slight. As an engineer I felt it was serviceable.

It was, because of its age, the type which didn't have the now required heat sensor that has to be hot to allow a gas flow. I understand such a sensor is a good idea, but to just use the excuse of fitting a smart meter to force appliance type change. Crickey.

Apparently, people have been less than happy and have 'thrown them out'.

Fortunately she keeps a very clean and tidy house.

They have to ask permission to turn an appliance off. And to cut the supply to it there must be an imediate risk to life or ptoperty. They do have a duty of care to visulay check appliances. Sounds like at worse the fire may of been 'AT RISK' which would just be turn off at the controls.

The only things that would be ID and require supply being cut are a gas leak. Spillage of fumes into room.

Jay, it think it is right they do what they need to for safety. I think carbon monoxide alarms are a good idea, only about £20. But it is kinda funny to think of people being worried about someone seeing their bedroom, etc, in its natural lived-in state....the panic that there is nothing embarrassing in view. People just expect they will just be in the place where the meter is located.