Towbar which one to go for?

andythom188

Electrician
T6 Legend
i need to fit a detachable towbar to the kombi I'm mechanically minded so can fit myself if needed but hate vehicle electrics even though I am a electrician :eek: what has every body gone for ?
Have seen Towbars on eBay but not sure if they are any good and been reading about the electrics have to be coded in

Just looked on there website they are Mobil thought they were static based worth concidering

Last edited:
image.png If I bought the westfalia towbar like this one fitted it myself how hard is it to wire it in and get it coded , trying to save £ for extra mods ;)

Looking at that one it does not come with specific wiring merely the universal version. When I updated the one on my touareg the instructions were really good but did entail removing lots of panels and a need for a specific tool for unpicking some wires. As for coding anybody with vcds will be able to do it, if you were closer I would have coded it for free.

I have the westfalia detachable towbar, the mechanical bit is similar to any other towbar
The vehicle specific kit runs from towbar underneath van and comes up through floor under passenger seat, the main control unit lives under the seat but a couple wires run on to underneath the dash and not 100% exactly where they go.what they connect too

Looking at that one it does not come with specific wiring merely the universal version. When I updated the one on my touareg the instructions were really good but did entail removing lots of panels and a need for a specific tool for unpicking some wires. As for coding anybody with vcds will be able to do it, if you were closer I would have coded it for free.
Think I might just do some phoning around on Monday get some prices for supply and fit might just be less of a headache ha