Tow weights - caravan

Garby

T6 Pro
Hi Everyone
This is a great site, with great information and advice.

ok here goes, I’ve camped and had many large motorhomes over the years and I’m still learning as we go along. We decided to downsize to a T6 lwb not so long ago, I really don’t think there is a perfect scenario out there to suit all our needs for camping , even owning some lovely motor homes there have always been many drawbacks, likewise with a T6 and the space you need to make things comfy.

We have now decided to tow a light weight caravan with the T6, I’m presuming with looking at weights the T6 will pull ok, we currently tow a trailer which has everything in included the kitchen sink, and use a quality Fiamma awning attached to the FIamma 45s attached wind out, ( selling the FIamma on here soon) this will free up the van to drive away on days out and then use the caravan when coming back, futhermore the children / grankiddie can use the caravan if they want to come on holiday, we can use the T6.

The caravan we are looking at is the new swift basecamp 4, anyone ever towed one with a transporter or something similar, I will want something new but light with a medium footprint , I don’t want a blow up awning for the T6 , so other than sell my lovely T6 I feel the tow solution may work.

please let me know thoughts / positives and negatives , at least then I can take a better view on the way to go

thanks in anticipation
Phil

I think you've got all bases covered there. We used to borrow a friends motorhome and saw everyone else with large motorhomes towing small cars. It struck me that if we were going to tow anything, it would be a caravan behind a car, which is what we went on to do. Home from home comfort in the white box that doesn't have to be packed away when we went out for the day.

You'll have the van for short trips away, then the caravan for more space and a permanent base. Plus have a vehicle that you can all go out in without size issues.