Shuttle camper conversion?

Nielsca

I am a newbie to the conversion process. I have a 2019 LWB DSG shuttle and I will be converting it over the next 6-9 months. I have arranged and booked a Pop top fitting but any advice on the best order to complete things, will be very much welcomed.I would like to know what I can be doing between now and the roof fitting. I am a competent DIYer, so much of the work is within my capability level. Many thanks in advance.

Hi guys, I’m looking at popping my VW Transporter cherry and have been trawling the net and eBay to find my perfect one. Ideally I want a lwb with tailgate and mfsw, which at sometime in the future I’ll be converting into a camper.
I think I’ve now found the right one, but it’s a shuttle and was wondering if this will create a big headache whilst converting due to the lights and vents in the roof and switches on the dashboard.
Any advice or experience that anyone has had with a shuttle would be greatly appreciated before I pull the trigger and buy. Thanks.

Hello and welcome to the forum.

Other than the similar threads shown below, this may be a good starting point for research:

@Shelts80 Sold our T5 earlier this year and purchased a T6 LWB Shuttle as we wanted twin sliders, tailgate etc. We got a much better spec'd van at a much lower price. We're doing a full conversation so everything is coming out of the back. Even then some converters don't like them, they tend to stick to their std conversations. We found a converter we like and it's currently being done.
Overall there shouldn't be any issues but there are things to be aware off depending on what you want / don't want to keep from the shuttle e.g. Aircon / heater unit etc. Make sure whoever is doing the work is happy with shutttles. One large converter told me the day after we purchased it to sell the van, the co we're using have just worked around it.