Rotten eggs!!

Phantom

T6 Pro
Hi Everyone and hope people camping are having a good time!!

After some advice please as this cannot continue!! About 6 weeks ago I filled up my 102 (Remapped) 16 plate (Euro 5 no adblue), 34k miles T6 in a petrol station I have never used before some way from home and 20 mins later the smell of rotten eggs started! I blamed the Ford Transit in front but after it turned off soon realized in was my van! I thought it must have been bad fuel and and slowly the smell disappeared after most of the fuel had been consumed! Ok so in the last six weeks I have filled up again twice and no smell so all seemed ok!

Last Friday I went to my usual petrol station but they had no fuel due to the pingdemic and driver shortage so nearest fix was Sainsbury's, 15 mins later the smell came back with a vengance, its horrendous! Used the van all weekend with windows open and filled up again half the tank I'd used with some expensive fuel but it's still smells like rotten eggs!! It's not as bad but maybe that's just be being positive! No warning lights and will try and get it into the garage shortly........

Could it be the Catalytic converter but why would the smell disappear with different fuel and no other warning signals!!! Could it just be bad fuel but surely not twice!?

Any ideas welcome and if anyone wants to borrow the van and use up this tank of fuel please feel free!!! Any help greatly appreciated! It smells like the science lesson with the bunsen burner when we used to burn stuff I believe Sulphur! Even the dog is moaning let alone the Mrs!

Thank you

Nick

Last edited:
Hi.. @Phantom ….Just did a quick Google….everything points to the exhaust/cat system …I’d ask your local exhaust garage to give it a once over :)

Car Advice

Reasons for a rotten egg smell in car​

Emily Jackson, 1 year ago 2 min read
The most likely cause of a rotten egg smell in your car is a broken catalytic converter.