Novice alert! Research Questions.

Andrew

T6 Guru
Hi everyone.

I'm new to Bus Life and am eagerly waiting for my new bus to arrive on the 11th. I feel like a 6 year old again waiting for Christmas. Odd as I'm 43!

I've bought a transporter which is in the garage now being lined, insulated, windows, carpeted, 3/4 bed seats. Which means my hobby can begin when it comes home.

I've been doing some research and am trying to get a checklist together of what I need to do. I'm semi-handy when it come to getting the spanner out so aim to do some, if not all, the rest myself. However, So far it seems I have little choice but to pay someone who can certify the work.

1. Units seem straight forward. I'm sure I can build something to my own design.
  2. Sink, cooker. - presume I need a professional to do this. Is this correct? Is there a certificate I'll need?
  3. Power, the garage has offered to put in an electric pack for £1200. Is this worth it or is it relatively straight forward and perhaps I can do it? Does anyone have any info of what is needed?
  4. Heating? Again, presume I'll need a professional to tackle this as I'd heard the diesel heaters are better. Are there better options?
  5. Is there anything glaring that I've forgotten?

Any advice I can get will be truly appreciated.

Thanks

Andrew

Hi. I bought the van from Leighton Vans and part of the purchase was these bits of prep work. Really wanted to do the conversion as a little hobby but fear I'm out of my depth and will need certified professionals.

Unless you're VERY handy, it's incredibly hard to make a DIY conversion look professional and tidy.
I'd do a modular build from someone like Slidepods. When I saw the prices they charge, I was gobsmacked - cracking VFM.
Definitely need any cooker certified by a professional too. I don't think the heater needs it but I'd want it done properly.