Noisy Reimo roof?

Arbee66

Bought our brand new converted camper back in the Spring (having never owned one before and therefore having nothing to compare). I am trying to gauge whether the slight noises that my roof makes are 'normal' or need investigation. Silence when going in a straight line but when cornering (especially, say, a roundabout) I get a gentle creaking and/or knocking noise from overhead (first thought was that my brand new van had noisy top suspension mounts but realised it was not noisy enough and above me, not in front). The van has a Riemo pop top with factory fitted Active Rails and is held down by the standard two straps at the front edge of the roof. If I open the window and place my fingers across where the roof and pop top join, I can feel a tiny amount of side to side movement from the pop top. I wonder whether I am maybe hearing two rubber seals working against each other but as an Engineer I need to know! Anyone else have similar or can simply tell me that this fairly normal from a pop top roof?

If a creaking noise is coming from above your head, then it will be the support bar they put in place after cutting the roof.
It's usually riveted on and bonded.
It can be a common issue from a poor installation or the bonding not cured before use.

I have exactly the same issue with mine! I have come to the conclusion it is the issue mentioned by evans1089 as I can replicate the creak by pulling on the frame inside with the roof raised. I’m going to try and find a reliable place to have it investigated and hopefully fixed as the noise is driving me mad. I won’t be able to do that soon so would be interested to hear how you get on. Out of interest which company did the conversion?