New T6.1 owner, well nearly..... about to order

BigDean

VIP Member
T6 Guru
Morning all,

Absolute newbie here. Just about to order first ever Transporter.

Going to be converting to a camper, so just wanted to make sure I am doing the right thing.

I think I am going to factory order:
T28/110
Single front seats on swivels, hence no bulkhead
Tailgate with window (will add privacy film)
Business pack (for AC)
External pack (for colour coding)

Does this seem like a good configuration for a base vehicle? There are only 2 of us most if the time, 2 grandkids occasionally.

Thanks in advance for your help.
BigDean

Is it going to be your main car? If so, you might want to consider electric folding mirrors, heated seats, reversing camera - some of the things that you just expect on a car nowadays!
Good luck with it

I would be tempted to go T30 for the additional capacity on weight in a camper.
Also, what lights does the 6.1 come with as standard now ?

Pete

Is it going to be your main car? If so, you might want to consider electric folding mirrors, heated seats, reversing camera - some of the things that you just expect on a car nowadays!
Good luck with it

Thanks for that, yes main car so will put those ideas on the list.

BigDean

T28 will be slim on any payload potential. Go for a T30. Widespread reports of 110 engines having oil dilution issues.

T28 will be slim on any payload potential.
I'd understood that a typical conversion weighs about 300kg. There are plenty of converted T28s, and they can carry 700kg+, so what load capacity issue is there?

Thanks for the comments on payload. It is going to be primarily a day van, so not too worried, but will consider.

Thanks.

I'd understood that a typical conversion weighs about 300kg. There are plenty of converted T28s, and they can carry 700kg+, so what load capacity issue is there?

Our T30 camper weighs 2400kg mostly unladen (no pop-top either).