My T6 is pulling to the left (RHD)

Kevin Mitchell

Hi

I read a post on the forum about this previously, but I can no longer find it.

My T6 Transporter is a year old now, but after getting wheel alignment done twice, I am still convinced that the vehicle pulls slightly to the left. I have tested it on long trips, and obviously been cognisant of road camber and wind. There is no noticeble ware on any of the tyres, and I have the factory standard wheels.

Anyone else experienced this?

Thanks
Kevin

I have a similar problem in that the steering wheel is not straight even if travelling in a straight line, it's biased slightly towards the right but if you let go the van pulls slightly to the left!

Given that my profession is Graphic Design and that I deal with lining things up etc., this is really pissing me off! I had the Sportline wheels fitted from new so I'm starting to think that the dealer may have just bolted them on and not bothered checking the tracking. Looking at the shoddy way they fitted my roof bars I reckon this is highly likely. I've brought both points to their attention, now hoping they'll resolve both issues sooner rather than later.

4wd vehicles naturally fight and follow the camber of the road, mine does exactly the same too as did my previous Audi, range rover, etc..

Saying that my alignment was way out when I picked it up from the dealership

Hi guys, just a word about my experiences with continental setup LHD vehicles when driving in the UK. They have tended to pull to the left because the caster angle etc of the steering has been set up for road camber for driving on the right. Since VW build the LHD & RHD vehicles on the same line at the same time according to other posts then it could be that a RHD vehicle has inadvertently been setup for LHD. The acceleration pull that @Polzeylad refers to is often called torque steer just in case your Dealership tries bluffing. I hope that you find a solution.

Last edited: