LED side bars

nigeltreves

Roofer
VIP Member
T6 Pro
Hi everyone. I have installed the above and as far as I can work out followed the instructions, but have got a problem. When the van is locked the LED ceiling lights and the side bar lights continue to glow. The side bar LEDs only work properly for about a second then go off. I thought it was a simple plug and play system. Its probably me that's simple. I am lost. I have no electrical experience what so ever but really wanted to do something myself for once. If anyone is willing to offer assistance I would be very gratefull.

How and where have you connected them ?
Are they genuine VW or copies ?

I have followed the instructions that were supplied with the kit and taken the supplied wires up to the courtesy light unit

What are these? Have you got a link? If they have a control circuit then maybe it takes a second for the capacitors to discharge and thats why you have a second delay in them going off?

They are genuine VW side bars with led puddle lights. The leds come on with the internal courtesy lights but go off almost immediately. The wiring supplied with the bars was connected to existing courtesy lights control in ceiling of cab with a supplied plug in kit

I think they are really nice very pleased with them, just cant/ don't understand whats gone wrong

Think I would first disconnect them to prove the interior lights go back to normal, if all ok then I would connect one bar at a time and see if one is faulty

Thanks. will give that a try. Also cant understand when van is locked the interior leds and side bar leds continue to faintly glow.The interior leds are additional, installed by Absolut5 and have worked fine since instalation