Hi! Camper Newbie looking for advice buying first camper

Pete24

Hi everyone!

This is my first post and I am completely new to the world of VW campers and just looking to buy our first. I have owned Caterhams for the last 8 years and I have finally given this up for a slower pace of life as it is something the wife has always dreamed of. So here we are!

We have a budget of around £27k, so after a solid week of research and searching, we have come to the conclusion that we can't quite afford a brand new 4 berth conversion as we would like a high spec base van with AC, cruise, DAB and bluetooth. Engine power is less of a concern, as anything less than 140bhp we would remap to about 140bhp. As for the conversion, we'd like a standard side kitchen layout with 2 seat fold out rear bed. Ideal features would include an oven/grill, diesel heater, solar panel, tailgate.

We briefly looked and the option of a DIY conversion, and I reckon we could just about do it for £27k, but we have decided to cut out the time and hassle of doing the conversion and instead plumb for a good used conversion.

We have found two really good looking options and would like some expert advice and opinions as to what might be best.

Option 1 (link to ad):
We were sold on this one initially before option 2 came up for sale this morning. This first option seems to have most of what we want apart from the tailgate. What we liked about this one was the fact it has a heater and comes with a good selection of accessories. Seems to be priced on the high side, but would hope he'd accept £27k.

Option 2 (link to ad):