Help With Schaudt Wa121545

BrianK

VIP Member
T6 Pro
Hello all

Complete newbie here hoping for some help from those who know their way around van electrics a lot better than me.

The vehicle is a 2014 VW Transporter T5.1 conversion that was already converted when I bought it. Unfortunately a simple 60A split charge relay beneath the bonnet along with a starter type battery for a leisure one achieves very little when driving probably as the van has a smart alternator and regenerative braking too.

I’m intending to replace the one poor battery with 2 x Bosch LFD90’s placed under the front seats and connected together in parallel.

Additionally I intend to remove the split charge relay and instal a Schaudt WA121545 B2B charger (also known as an Intelligent Alternator Booster) to hopefully provide the best possible chance of a good charge as I drive from place to place. I may also want to add solar one day but don’t want to get involved in this at the moment.

Installing the actual unit seems relatively straightforward (see pdf linked below) with live and negatives going from the starter battery to the WA121545 and then the same on to the leisure battery. Where it becomes a bit more confusing to me is how the system will integrate with the DS300 Distribution board and CB516 charger. Also there is mention of using a simulated D+ signal in much that I have read, I believe to ensure the starter battery still receives a charge when plugged into EHU but I’m not sure.

http://www.aandncaravanservices.co.uk/resources/Schaudt WA121545.pdf

Other specification of the van that may have a bearing are:

CBE PC210 Controller
CBE CB516 Mains charger
CBE DS120-S Mains consumer unit
CBE DS300 Distribution board
Waeco CRX 50 Fridge
Planar 2D diesel heater

Any help that can be offered will be gratefully received.