Hard wiring Dash Cam T6.1 Caravelle

Jonesy68

What do I need to buy next...
VIP Member
T6 Guru
So I have read through @Pauly uploads of various fuse box and earthing point diagrams but as a novice I'm still struggling. Really want to hardwire a dash cam in rather than have it plugged into the cigarette sockets as these are always live right?

So I was going to pull the cable down the A pillar and get it down to that fuse area but I see there is also fuses under both seats! either one better to use?

Am I right in thinking if I choose something with the same fuse rating and that only works when the ignition is on I'm OK? Then I see there is meant to be an earth there too.

Still trying to commit to a particular dash cam too, was thinking NextBase but read issues with DAB...:confused:

20220715_123115.jpg

thanks Jonesy

Still going round in circles selecting a cam too...

Last edited:
I can strongly recommend the thinkware cameras which can be found here.

We usually go down the A pillar to the fuse box if that helps

So I have read through @Pauly uploads of various fuse box and earthing point diagrams but as a novice I'm still struggling. Really want to hardwire a dash cam in rather than have it plugged into the cigarette sockets as these are always live right?

So I was going to pull the cable down the A pillar and get it down to that fuse area but I see there is also fuses under both seats! either one better to use?

Am I right in thinking if I choose something with the same fuse rating and that only works when the ignition is on I'm OK? Then I see there is meant to be an earth there too.

Still trying to commit to a particular dash cam too, was thinking NextBase but read issues with DAB...:confused:

View attachment 165054

thanks Jonesy

Still going round in circles selecting a cam too...
Hi all
Just wanted to know which fuses you used to connect to?

2nd attempt - now edited.
3rd attempt - will read more as now I am confusing myself.