Do HMRC think my van is a car?

dilbu

Hi all -

I've been planning on a new T6 van to convert to a camper this spring; I work as a videographer and travel quite a bit around the place on shoots with a bunch of gear; the majority being in rural areas. I also have previously been a member of a coworking space which went under due to the pandemic, so having a van i could travel in, carry gear, stay in for the day to do edits etc and also potentially sleep in makes a lot of sense. I of course would use it with my wife on and off but I can totally justify the use of it as a portable office/work vehicle. However my accountant has come back to me and said that as soon as I put a seat in the back (let alone a rock and roll bed) then the HMRC class my van as a car, citing this case, and therefore I cannot claim it as a commercial vehicle (making it pointless to put through my limited company). Seems crazy to me for a variety of reasons, but I was wondering if anyone had come up against this and knew how absolute it was and if there's a workaround? The case specifically relates to crew cab kombi's but I'm not sure how these legal precedents work really.

Thanks!

Do you intend buying the van from your company when you’re done? Do you intend putting the conversion costs through your company?

You can buy a commercial vehicle and be straight with your accountant and therefore HMRC! You can do things to the commercial vehicle post purchase and be silent with those entities!

Hi Same issue so we purchased the van a t6 and claimed the vat in 2016 tax year
During the next tax year (due to our converter) we claimed for conversion in several different invoices.
insulation and lining
electrics and kitchen
pop up roof
RIB bed
I have a feeling that we decided against claiming for one element to keep our accountant happy I could dig this out if it helps. However we still put all invoices through the business