JTT6

VIP Member
T6 Pro
Evening all, I am looking at 240v power options for the van, and rather than a traditional split charge/leisure battery, I have been looking at removable batteries like the Ecoflow Delta / Goal Zero Yeti 1000x. I'm a photographer so having power I can take out of the van on shoots would be great. The Yeti 1000x has a propper car charger option, but it is £500 and the spec/charge time of the Ecoflow looks much better....

Now wondering what is the best way to create a 240v system to charge the Delta from the van?.
Could I simply run an inverter if so what do you guys suggest? I have space under passenger/driver seats to mount something..
Thanks in advance. Jack.

Hi mate, could you charge the Delta using the 12V instead? I have a similar battery and I use the 12V when I’m running the van, or a solar panel when I’m stationary.

Hey, yer you can charge via 12v but it’s slow. The EcoFlow charges in 1.5hrs over 240v which is mad, so want to see if that’s possible without cooking anything in the van…

This is going to come down to simple science, lets look at the worst case scenario and assume your unit is flat/empty

According to the sites specs the mains charger is 1200W, if your unit is flat and needs charging then you need to take that capacity from your van into the unit in the time taken, thats a hefty current

If you want to do it with mains then 1200W @230V is approx 5.2 amps, assuming you want to do this from an invertor then (allowing for a little bit of inefficiency) you can times that by around 20 to get the 12V power draw, so you are looking potentially a bit over 100A current and would need to do this for upto 1.6 hours to get it fully charged !