Changing From Sole Trader To Limited Company

Pauly

VCDS User
Admin
So i am about to change my business into a ltd company and my insurance is due for renewal soon so while i was checking prices and comparing quotes i wondered if it made any difference to the price what the business type was so i clicked on limited company to see what happened and when changing to a ltd the price went up about 20-30% !! (im a high risk driver (points/claims) so this equates to quite a price hike

Not sure why as all other details remained the same but now the question is, i am still a sole trader and will be when my insurance renews but am planning to change to ltd mid term, do i need to tell them ? Will i still be insured ?

My accountant reckons i could also lose my no claims bonus as its personal and not in a company name but not sure how true this is

Anyone else had any experience of these things ?

@PukkaT6

Not sure about the Ltd company price hike but most insurance companies will transfer the bulk of your NCB when changing from personal to business and vice versa...

Same with me, sort off.

I have personal FComp car insurance with full NCB Etc for me and missus SDP use.

But the van had to be insured as business use, (Ltd company, company owns van, van reg in company name, company pays all the costs, I'm the main named driver + 2nd driver) so needed a separate policy with new NCB and everything.... plus its named driver only and not allowed to drive anything else.

So I have to pay for 2 polices over the year, both have there Own NCB and discount rates Etc, all separate.

Been the same for the last 15yrs.

So if your starting a fresh then 20-30% price increase might explain the start of a new NCB?(for the Ltd business policy)

Fyi.... I'm with A-plan for both motor policies.... and PLI too. (I try to get a bulk discount)

Last edited: