Any Lawyers on the forum?

Skyliner33

VCDS User
VIP Member
T6 Legend
Last night the storm blew down a fence that the farmer of the field had erected behind my fence. It’s knocked my fence down and broken the concrete post and other bits. Will he have to pay and how do I go about getting this resolved. He is a complete £#*(=£- so I am anticipating a battle. 4707952D-DF5D-4274-81E0-C51A39BEA97A.jpeg9B88D9C6-E8F2-4304-9A89-A19E05CBA979.jpegCF2F6FE8-1CFB-4098-BCE3-E5264A084CE8.jpeg

• Sad
Reactions: JOG
Thorny one! I’m not a lawyer but please get some pics of the state of his fence. That it was storm damage is the niggle here as he didn’t bust your fence, an “act of nature” did. Therefore, the damage to your fence is your responsibility. I suspect the route you’d have to explore is whether he took reasonable care. This becomes a very muddy subject as you’d seek to remove the “act of nature” defence and demonstrate his failure.

The way to look at “act of nature” is to consider if that fence panel blew in from the next county and smashed your fence - you’d have to fix your fence! That the same act of nature blew in your neighbour’s fence panel is treated the same way - you have to fix your fence!

I wouldn’t spend good money going to court over this. Have a friendly conversation with him, even if he is a prat and see whether he’d stick his hand in his pocket. From what you say, you may not be successful. Maybe try “going halves” on a single strong fence? (I got burnt on that one myself: neighbour agreed to share cost of materials - I spent about £1800 and never saw a penny! No, we don’t accept their parcels if they’re out!)

Sorry for bad news - I hope a proper legal bod tells you that I’m talking through my hat (again!!!!)