Aircon Panel Illumination.

Discussion in 'General VW T6 Chat' started by BoroBoy, 12 Feb 2020.

  1. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    Hi,
    Can anybody enlighten me as to the fuse location for aircon control illumination, or any other reason why the AC light and Recirculation lights are not working.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Dellmassive

    Dellmassive 204 T32 DSG LWB SPORTLINE PV MY18 VCDS User Moderator VIP Member T6 Legend

    Map
    did they work before?

    (the back light is part of the dimmer ambient circuit for the whole dash)


    [​IMG]

    .


    got a pic?
     
  3. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    Yes they were working. I have been removing some of the lower dash, so maybe I have dislodged something. All the rest of dash lighting is working. I thought the aircon panel may have been on a different circuit.
    I will go out and get a pic.
     
  4. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    2 pics just taken.

    20200212_184250.jpg

    20200212_184259.jpg
     
  5. Deaky

    Deaky On yer bike VCDS User Moderator VIP Member T6 Legend

    Map
    I’d check all the plugs on the back.
     
  6. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    I had the unit out yesterday and all the plugs looked intact.
     
  7. Deaky

    Deaky On yer bike VCDS User Moderator VIP Member T6 Legend

    Map
    Pull the plugs out and make sure none of the pins are bent
     
  8. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    The AC and Recirc buttons do not light up when pressed. Could it be fuse problem?
     
  9. Dellmassive

    Dellmassive 204 T32 DSG LWB SPORTLINE PV MY18 VCDS User Moderator VIP Member T6 Legend

    Map
    so its totally dead?

    the night ambient illumination doesn't work . . .

    nor do the functions?

    AC & Recirc?
     
  10. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    It looks like it. Went for a drive tonight and nothing worked on the aircon unit.
     
  11. Dellmassive

    Dellmassive 204 T32 DSG LWB SPORTLINE PV MY18 VCDS User Moderator VIP Member T6 Legend

    Map
    Looks like the HVAC (J301) unit is connected to the BMC (J519) via CANH/LA

    and Illumination feed,

    also separate power and grounds . . .

    fuses are mentioned: SC24, SC42, SC15, SC30 along with others,

    upload_2020-2-16_20-12-11.png upload_2020-2-16_20-12-25.png upload_2020-2-16_20-13-55.png

    .
     
    Last edited: 16 Feb 2020 at 20:19
  12. Dellmassive

    Dellmassive 204 T32 DSG LWB SPORTLINE PV MY18 VCDS User Moderator VIP Member T6 Legend

    Map
    your need to start checking ALL the fuses.

    with the ignition ON, use a meter or testlight to touch each side of the fuse (in situ)

    a good fuse will show power on bothe sides.

    a bad fuse will show power on one side only.

    .


    T6 Fuse Layout SC,SD,SF (NON-CALI)

    .

    Fuse Card
     
  13. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    Thanks for the above info. I will check the fuses tomorrow
     
  14. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    What is a test light? Is it home made or can I buy one that measures low voltage?
     
  15. St4n99

    St4n99 Senior Member VIP Member T6 Guru

    Map
    Test light is a great wee tool to see if there is power coming from a terminal or fuse , looks like a screw driver with a crocodile clip to clamp to a negitive post, you then touch the tip of the test lamp to the positive terminal or fuse in this case and if it lights up then you have power , IV it dosent then you don't and you have found a problem

    Circuit Tester 6V - 24V

    Like this one but there are plenty out there
     
  16. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    Great. Thanks for that. I'll get 1 this morning.
     
  17. Dellmassive

    Dellmassive 204 T32 DSG LWB SPORTLINE PV MY18 VCDS User Moderator VIP Member T6 Legend

    Map
  18. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    I have checked the fuses. S15 - no fuse in place,
    S24 good, S30 good, S42 good.
    I removed the controller from the dashboard, blower is working from the centre knob. AC and Recirc button, no lights when button pressed.
     
  19. Pauly

    Pauly Senior Member VCDS User Admin Moderator

    Map
    Think you need to get a scan from the van and see what fault codes you are getting

    If you have been inside the lower dash then theres a good chance this is self inflicted and something simple unplugged or dislodged, what work have you been doing in the dash ?
     
  20. BoroBoy

    BoroBoy Member VIP Member

    Map
    Fitting a Kenwood amp to my aftermarket head unit. Things are awfully tight in their with 2 new looks for the amp.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice