150ps or 204ps for T32 LWB camper??

Rapt0rUK

VIP Member
T6 Pro
Hi folks,

Newbie here but we're finally getting close to pulling the trigger on our base van for a camper conversion. We've got our eyes on a couple of options and planning to get out to see them this weekend.

One question, I was after some thoughts on...150 vs 204...

There seems to be quite a few 150's our there but a lot less 204's... We've found one but not in our preferred colour. Was wondering what the consensus is on the 150 with a T32 LWB and whether it still has plenty of punch or is it worth holding out for a 204ps if you can find one?

I will of course drive both but until it's converted and had all that extra weight thrown in, it's hard to know how each engine would fair.

Thanks!

I only have a Caravelle and I was looking for a 204 but could not find the right one. So I bought a 150 DSG which is absolutely fine but I wanted the extra torque for ease of driving to make it more effortless and relaxing. I have mapped many vehicles in the past so I had not doubts about getting a good remap done. I now have the Revo stage one remap which is awesome - this could be a possibility for you. There are several good engine tuners out there and I keep hearing good things about Pendle and Revo. - Just my 2 penny worth which might help your decision process

Personally I think that 150PS is a nice compromise between performance and economy. It doesn't seem that long ago that VW were badging the 150TDI Golf as a GTI.

It's a van after all. When I'm driving mine, I never feel like I need to be in too much of a hurry.

Biased but so glad I spent a bit more and got the 204, pulls like a train and great tow vehicle.

I have the EU5 180 and enjoy the power but it’s quite a bit thirstier than my mates EU6 150.
Pretty sure the difference will also be there in the EU6 engines. Even lightly loaded it will probably still use more fuel.
Worth thinking about.